Directions (ADK 6)

Directions (ADK 6)

Directions (ADK 6)

 

“Oh, you’re going up to Willy’s place?”

Hank said as he leaned heavily against his shovel and wiped his wrist across his face.

“Where they goin?” Jason called from deeper in the field.

“Out to Willy’s place!” Hank called back over his shoulder. He looked back around toward the foreigner in black. “Sorry, Jason’s nosy. We’re uh, we’re friends a’ his. Pry’ see ya aroun’ sooner or later, yer goin’ out ta Willy’s. Anyway, what you wanna do is go back down this gravel road you just come up, then go back toward the highway, so take a left outta here. Then you stay on that road past the highway n’ go straight inta’ the town. Now Willy’s place is about four miles outta the town to the north, so you enter the town from that road out there, from the west, and you’ll know you’re in the town proper when you pass the big brick building on the right with the big boulder out front, that’s the high school we all wen’ ta,” he redirected his voice over his shoulder and raised it, “‘ey Jason, who painted the rock las’?”

 

“Shanna and the volleyball team, three nights ago.”

 

Hank continued, looking back around at the foreigner, “so the rock’s gonna be all navy n gold and covered in girl writin’ ’bout now I’d say, I don’ know, I ain’ been down there mesself since they changed it. Like I said that’s were we all went to school til about two weeks ago. You might even wanna look for Willy down by the school now I’m thinkin about it. You know he was our valecda- whats that word? top of the whole damn class, an’ we didn’t even know he’d been studyin’, but I spose you know Willy. Anyway, you gotta go on past the school – that is, if you don’ see Willy walkin around there like the king of the damn world – about two blocks, if you get up by the library you gon’ too far, though I spose you could peek in there and meet Alexis if you wanna, she oughtta be workin right now, Willy’s been in love with her for about a three weeks now, did he tell you that little junior he was datin’ dumped him? ‘Bout broke ‘is damn heart, but he’ll tell you all about it I bet. Hell I betchya already know. So you take that left two blocks on past the school, you’ll see the old park on the corner right there where we used ta’ hang out nights, but the cops chased us outta there a few years back. That’s a nice park though, and Willy’s Mama’s got a cafe right across the street from it if you wanna grab a coffee or somethin’ and sit outside for a bit.  Anyway, if you don’ do that you wanna hang a left at that little park there and go on past the old football field, that’s where me n’ Jason out there used to spend all our time after school the past few years, I ‘spose that’s when Willy musta’ been readin’ them books, right? Ha! Do you play football? You look like you could run pretty fast, but if you play don’ let Jason know cuz he’ll as soon tackle ya as talk to ya. I was on the outter line, I was a runner, you can see I’m built more skinny like you. Jason though, he don’ look too big and truth is he ain’ half as big as the ‘backs on the other teams we used ta’ play, but he could stop anybody once he wanted to. He ain’t big, but there’s no fear in ‘im, he’s a wall when he needs to be. ’bout broke the neck a’ that quarterback from Essex our last game a’ the season. That’s how we beat ’em, their quarterback wasn’ gon walk off the field after Jason was done w’ im, ain’ that right J?” Hank called this last bit over his shoulder again.

 

“I don’t know what kinda bullshit you spinnin’ out there Hank, but if you’re still braggin’ on our last game don’ you make yusself out ta be the hero – I’m the one broke that motherfucker’s face!”

 

Hank turned back to the foreigner, laughing. “Don’ let J worry ya, kid’s harmless, jus’ enthusiastic’s all i spose. Where was I? Oh right, so you go on pas’ the old football field which, lets see, if you took that left at the park, the old field oughtta be on your right. So you drive on up with that field on your right, and from there the town starts to break up. There’s one las’ gas station before you leave, but don’ stop in there. I worked there every summer I was a kid so I could buy that truck, you see that one off over the field? That little beaut’s mine. I saved up four summers to buy that little lady. But if you don’ need, don’ stop in at that last gas station, try to hit the one between here and town. That last one on the road north’s where I worked to buy that truck and the owner out there’s a real sunuvabitch. I was so young I took that job I didn’ even know there WAS a minumum wage til I complained to Willy bout makin’ nothin’ out there. Then Willy tol’ me i oughtta been making like seven thirty five an hour? I walked inta that place after talkin ta Willy and tol’ the old motherfucker I’d sue his ass he didn’ start payin’ me proper. He fired me, but I already had enough for my truck so fuck ‘im.” Hank turned away from the foreigner to spit a great slimy w0.0’`

‘ad of black tobacco into the dust near their feet. “So you go on up past that motherfucker’s gas station and after about three more miles you’ll come up on Willy’s place. They got woods by the street and a real long driveway, but I bet he gave ya the number didn’ e? I don’ know the number mesself, but his’ll be a dirt driveway off the left side that road, three, three and a half miles past that las’ gas station. If you get confused, just stop inta the library and ask Alexis or go on inta Willy’s Mama’s cafe off the main road, they’ll putchya back on course. I’m Hank, by the way, I’m sure I’ll be seeing ya aroun’ soon so if these directions getchya lost you just pop me one next time ya see me. It’s a small enough town, we’ll run inta each other sooner’r’later…”

 

“Oh, you’re going up to Willy’s place?”

Hank said as he leaned heavily against his shovel and wiped his wrist across his face.

“Where they goin?” Jason called from deeper in the field.

“Out to Willy’s place!” Hank called back over his shoulder. He looked back around toward the foreigner in black. “Sorry, Jason’s nosy. We’re uh, we’re friends a’ his. Pry’ see ya aroun’ sooner or later, yer goin’ out ta Willy’s. Anyway, what you wanna do is go back down this gravel road you just come up, then go back toward the highway, so take a left outta here. Then you stay on that road past the highway n’ go straight inta’ the town. Now Willy’s place is about four miles outta the town to the north, so you enter the town from that road out there, from the west, and you’ll know you’re in the town proper when you pass the big brick building on the right with the big boulder out front, that’s the high school we all wen’ ta,” he redirected his voice over his shoulder and raised it, “‘ey Jason, who painted the rock las’?”

 

“Shanna and the volleyball team, three nights ago.”

 

Hank continued, looking back around at the foreigner, “so the rock’s gonna be all navy n gold and covered in girl writin’ ’bout now I’d say, I don’ know, I ain’ been down there mesself since they changed it. Like I said that’s were we all went to school til about two weeks ago. You might even wanna look for Willy down by the school now I’m thinkin about it. You know he was our valecda- whats that word? top of the whole damn class, an’ we didn’t even know he’d been studyin’, but I spose you know Willy. Anyway, you gotta go on past the school – that is, if you don’ see Willy walkin around there like the king of the damn world – about two blocks, if you get up by the library you gon’ too far, though I spose you could peek in there and meet Alexis if you wanna, she oughtta be workin right now, Willy’s been in love with her for about a three weeks now, did he tell you that little junior he was datin’ dumped him? ‘Bout broke ‘is damn heart, but he’ll tell you all about it I bet. Hell I betchya already know. So you take that left two blocks on past the school, you’ll see the old park on the corner right there where we used ta’ hang out nights, but the cops chased us outta there a few years back. That’s a nice park though, and Willy’s Mama’s got a cafe right across the street from it if you wanna grab a coffee or somethin’ and sit outside for a bit.  Anyway, if you don’ do that you wanna hang a left at that little park there and go on past the old football field, that’s where me n’ Jason out there used to spend all our time after school the past few years, I ‘spose that’s when Willy musta’ been readin’ them books, right? Ha! Do you play football? You look like you could run pretty fast, but if you play don’ let Jason know cuz he’ll as soon tackle ya as talk to ya. I was on the outter line, I was a runner, you can see I’m built more skinny like you. Jason though, he don’ look too big and truth is he ain’ half as big as the ‘backs on the other teams we used ta’ play, but he could stop anybody once he wanted to. He ain’t big, but there’s no fear in ‘im, he’s a wall when he needs to be. ’bout broke the neck a’ that quarterback from Essex our last game a’ the season. That’s how we beat ’em, their quarterback wasn’ gon walk off the field after Jason was done w’ im, ain’ that right J?” Hank called this last bit over his shoulder again.

 

“I don’t know what kinda bullshit you spinnin’ out there Hank, but if you’re still braggin’ on our last game don’ you make yusself out ta be the hero – I’m the one broke that motherfucker’s face!”

 

Hank turned back to the foreigner, laughing. “Don’ let J worry ya, kid’s harmless, jus’ enthusiastic’s all i spose. Where was I? Oh right, so you go on pas’ the old football field which, lets see, if you took that left at the park, the old field oughtta be on your right. So you drive on up with that field on your right, and from there the town starts to break up. There’s one las’ gas station before you leave, but don’ stop in there. I worked there every summer I was a kid so I could buy that truck, you see that one off over the field? That little beaut’s mine. I saved up four summers to buy that little lady. But if you don’ need, don’ stop in at that last gas station, try to hit the one between here and town. That last one on the road north’s where I worked to buy that truck and the owner out there’s a real sunuvabitch. I was so young I took that job I didn’ even know there WAS a minumum wage til I complained to Willy bout makin’ nothin’ out there. Then Willy tol’ me i oughtta been making like seven thirty five an hour? I walked inta that place after talkin ta Willy and tol’ the old motherfucker I’d sue his ass he didn’ start payin’ me proper. He fired me, but I already had enough for my truck so fuck ‘im.” Hank turned away from the foreigner to spit a great slimy w0.0’`

‘ad of black tobacco into the dust near their feet. “So you go on up past that motherfucker’s gas station and after about three more miles you’ll come up on Willy’s place. They got woods by the street and a real long driveway, but I bet he gave ya the number didn’ e? I don’ know the number mesself, but his’ll be a dirt driveway off the left side that road, three, three and a half miles past that las’ gas station. If you get confused, just stop inta the library and ask Alexis or go on inta Willy’s Mama’s cafe off the main road, they’ll putchya back on course. I’m Hank, by the way, I’m sure I’ll be seeing ya aroun’ soon so if these directions getchya lost you just pop me one next time ya see me. It’s a small enough town, we’ll run inta each other sooner’r’later…”

Leave a Reply

